Bellefonte Academy Postcards & Photos

A Bellefonte Landmark Remembered

Founded in 1805, the Bellefonte Academy was a private preparatory school with a national reputation and a long history of educating prominent public figures. Under the leadership of Rev. James R. Hughes and later his son, James R. Hughes, the Academy also became known for its athletics, including a 1908 football victory over Penn State and a National Prep School Championship in 1926.

The Academy closed during the Depression in 1934 and was later converted into apartments. Its distinctive building, remembered for the Greek Revival columns added in 1904, stood at the foot of West Bishop Street until it was destroyed by fire in 2004.

Explore the gallery below for historic postcard views of the Bellefonte Academy from the Fred D. Smith Collection.